Hunger Games: Why I hate reading.

Okay, little known fact. I don’t like reading. I really don’t. (Sorry to all my English major friends who eat books for breakfast, lunch, and snacktime.)

I find books frustrating because most of the time, the plot doesn’t go the way I want it to. Or the author has a really amazing build up but then the climax is like a “What the heck, that’s it?” moment. Maybe I read too much Twilight (fact: I’ve never actually read an entire Twilight book… I just skipped around to the good stuff… and then realized it was never going to come around). But my disappointment in books really started with Lord of the Rings and Cold Mountain and The Great Gatsby (my favorite book) and sometimes Harry Potter.

I think the last book I actually read from beginning to end was Hunger Games. But only the first one because I started skipping around the second and third when they got borderline ridiculous and tried to be Harry Potter mixed with A Handmaiden’s Tale. At that point, I decided I wanted less dystopia and more Nicholas Sparks (even though I hate straight up Nicholas Sparks, it is too much cheese for slightly lactose intolerant me to stomach).

The books are like a better written, more plot driven, more disturbingly visual, less self centered version of Twilight. But Peeta vs Gale? Seriously, is this even a real contest? What, the Edward vs Jacob didn’t satisfy your inner teenage girl craving for pointless drama enough that there had to be a version two of Edward vs Jacob? And in what world would someone pick (spoiler alert) Peeta over Gale. I mean, Gale has eye lashes that are longer than the ones you can buy at MAC. And Gale is actually Australian. Maybe if they’d let him keep his accent the results would’ve been different. Oh wait, that was the movie. Sorry.

I understand that Hunger Games has an actual plot, but by the 3rd book that plot became half as complicated as the one in Harry Potter and my brain shut off. If I wanted something like Harry Potter, I would’ve read Harry Potter. I wanted Hunger Games to deliver an epic love story heightened by intense battle scenes. It fell way below Twilight in that respect. And I fell out of favor with the book because of it.

In the end Hunger Games has the exact same problem that Magic Mike has: too much plot, too little dancing.

That being said, I’m so beyond excited to see Catching Fire, I’ve been watching the first Hunger Games non stop on Amazon Prime and watching the trailer endlessly on Youtube.

Who wants to go see it with me?

~C~

 

Leave a comment